Epping Squash Club hosted round two of this season’s Essex Junior Grand Prix on Sunday with an array of new faces and winners highlighting the growth of the popular event.

Open to junior players not currently aligned to county squads, the Grand Prix is in its second season and has already unearthed some exciting talent.

And if the Epping showcase is anything to go by, the Essex talent pool is in extremely good shape.

Based on school year age-groups, the event produced seven winners after six hours of intensive action. Points from all six GP events will be tallied to produce overall champions making the Epping event competitive in the extreme.

The girls’ Year 10 and under contest was particularly intriguing with sisters Olivia and Georgia Shreeve, playing their first GP event, meeting in a winner-take-all final match of the day, The siblings, who both play at Epping SC, had overcome every other player in their division and faced one another to decide the league winner.

Their match-up produced some tremendously competitive and impressive squash with Olivia (pictured above) just shading a tight affair,

Another debut player, Anthony Yip, looks another interesting talent. He took first place in the Year 6 and under Blue group putting his pace and good racket skills to excellent use. The Red group was headed by Armaan Sattar who won all his matches.

A huge thanks to all the staff at Epping SC for hosting and supporting the event. Their friendliness and willingness to help was much appreciated. Also, huge appreciation to our hard working Essex Junior Squash secretary Karen Selby for giving up her time and running such a splendid event.


Girls ‘Year 6 & Under

1st Emma Logan, 2nd Deeya Kaur Ranu, 3rd Renitha Srindran

Girls’ Year 8 & Under 

1st Henna Kaur Ranur, 2nd Daisy Newton, 3rd Grace Knox

Girls’ Year 10 & Under 

1st Olivia Shreeve, 2nd Georgia Shreeve, 3rd Pradnya Chaudhari

Boys’ Year 6 & Under RED GROUP

1st Armaan Sattar, 2nd Sebastian Waugh, 3rd Arjan Kingra

Boys Year 6 & Under BLUE GROUP A

1st Anthony Yip, 2nd Ben Thomas, 3rd Elliott Brown

Boys Year 8 & Under RED GROUP 
1st Ross Jordan, 2nd Marcus Dove, 3rd Sebastian Dove

Boys Year 10 & 8 BLUE GROUP 
1st Jai Chaudhari, 2nd Akash Shah, 3rd Nils Carter de Jong (*Also top U-10 player).