The Essex Junior Closed once again delivered thrills and spills as over 120 of the county’s best young junior squash players fought for honours at this year’s championship.

Played over two days and watched by a packed crowd at the Colchester Garrison, our juniors once again delivered some amazing squash illustrating the depth of talent within the County. The event was backed by sponsors Miles Smith Insurance Group and London law firm EC3Legal and it really could not have gone better.

For many juniors, it was their first taste of county action with a new crop of Under-11 players gracing the courts. To see so many fresh-faced newbies was a delight, as indeed was the quality of their squash.

A massive thank you to the Essex Junior Squash committee, particularly Lauren Selby and David Harris and his good wife Emma for making sure the tournament ran like clockwork. Thanks too to Debbie, Karen and the rest of the mum’s who helped run our award-winning cake and snack bar and to all those who helped mark over the course of the two days.

Finally, thank you to all the parents and players for making this season’s Essex Junior Squash County Closed Championships as competitive and enjoyable as ever.

 This year’s trophy winners are pictured below but there is a huge gallery of photographs from the weekend on our Facebook site  Check it out HERE.



Results from 2017 Essex County Closed Championships:

GU11 runner-up Ruby Hester
GU11 Winner Manuela Horscroft

BU11 Plate Runner-up Thomas Owen
BU11 Plate Winner – George Woodhead
BU11 4th Place – Saarang Meduri
BU11 3rd Place – Jack Tooley
BU11 Runner-up – Sam Thickbroom
BU11 Winner – Zain Mughal

GU13 Runner-up – Renitha Srindran
GU13 Winner – Lara Newton

BU13 Plate Runner-up – Luca Bartley
BU13 Plate Winner – Sebastian Waugh
BU13 Runner-up – Daniel Caton
BU13 Winner – Palmer deville

GU15 Plate Runner-up – Alice Lindsay
GU15 Plate Winner – Jessica Baxter

GU15 Runner-up – Hannah Morley
GU15 Winner – Ellie Hewes

BU15 Plate Runner-up – Robert Wand
BU15 Plate Winner – Max Chilver
BU15 Runner-up – Zaid Mushtaq
BU15 Winner – Joel Braddock

GU17 Runner-up – Aliza Sheikh

GU17 Winner – Eleanor White

BU17 Plate Runner-up – Flynn McKennon
BU17 Plate Winner – Adrian Dibattista
BU17 Runner-up – Harry Kitchens
BU17 Winner – Ollie Green

BU19 Runner-up – Hayden Smith
BU19 Winner – Clayton Hunt